

Municipality of Anchorage

Honor Roll of Anchorage Mayors

City of Anchorage

Leopold David	11/26/20-04/11/23	William Stolt	04/09/41-04/10/44
Joseph Conroy	04/11/23-10/08/24	Ray Wolfe	04/10/44-04/09/45
Charles Bush	10/08/24-01/01/26	John Manders	04/09/45-03/19/46
C. M. Eckmann	01/01/26-05/09/27	Win Ervin	03/19/46-04/08/46
William Clayson	05/09/27-04/09/28	Francis Bowden	04/08/46-04/12/48
Grant Reed	04/09/28-04/10/29	Z. J. Loussac	04/12/48-10/08/51
James Delaney	04/10/29-04/11/32	Maynard Taylor	10/08/51-10/12/55
O. S. Gill	04/11/32-04/07/33	Ken Hinchey	12/12/55-05/01/56
T. J. McCroskey	04/07/33-01/01/34	Anton Anderson	05/01/56-10/21/58
O. S. Gill	01/01/34-04/11/36	Hewitt Lounsbury	10/21/58-10/07/59
H. E. Brown	04/11/36-04/12/37	George Byer	10/07/59-10/09/61
Dr. J. M. Romig	04/12/37-04/11/38	George Sharrock	10/09/61-10/12/64
H. E. Brown	04/11/38-04/08/40	Elmer Rasmuson	10/12/64-10/09/67
George Vaara	04/08/40-04/09/41	George Sullivan	10/09/67-09/16/75

Greater Anchorage Area Borough

John Asplund	01/00/64-10/03/72	John Roderick	10/03/72-09/16/75
--------------	-------------------	---------------	-------------------

Municipality of Anchorage

Mayor George Sullivan	Term 09/16/1975 – 12/31/1981	Total Votes Cast 32,568 – October 1978
Tony Knowles	01/01/1982 – 12/31/1987	51,514 – October 1981 46,002 – October 1981 (runoff) 66,105 – October 1984
Tom Fink	01/01/1988 – 06/30/1994	55,742 – October 1987 54,176 – November 1987 (runoff) 56,724 – October 1990 62,819 – October 1990 (runoff)
Rick Mystrom	07/01/1994 – 06/30/2000	69,577 – April 1994 56,093 – May 1994 (runoff) 61,602 – April 1997

Mayor	Term	Total Votes Cast
George Wuerch	07/01/2000 - 06/30/2003	62,406 – April 2000
		69,025 – May 2000 (runoff)
Mark Begich	$07/01/2003 - 01/02/2009^{1}$	63,524 – April 2003
		70,859 – April 2006
Dan Sullivan	07/02/2009 - 06/30/2015	58,714 – April 2009
		55,006 – May 2009 (runoff)
		71,099 – April 2012
Ethan Berkowitz	$07/01/2015 - 10/23/2020^2$	57,606 – April 2015
		70,650 – May 2015 (runoff)
		79,295 – April 2018
Dave Bronson	07/01/2021 - 06/30/2024	75,441 – April 2021
		90,816 – May 2021 (runoff)

 1 Matthew Claman was Acting Mayor from 01/03/2009 to 06/30/2009, after Mayor Begich was elected to the U.S. Senate.

² Austin Quinn-Davidson was Acting Mayor from 10/23/2020 to 06/30/2021, after Mayor Berkowitz resigned.

- The Greater Anchorage Area Borough and the City of Anchorage unified on September 16, 1975.
- Municipal elections changed from October to April. The last October election was in 1991.
- The first April (3rd week) election was held in 1993 with the Mayor elected in April and taking office on the 1st of July.